Spice Bazaar, called in Turkish as 'Mısır Çarşısı' or Egyptian Bazaar is one of the oldest bazaars in the city, located in Eminönü which is the second largest covered shopping complex after the Grand Bazaar.
Spice Bazaar is an “L” shaped building and was built in 1664. It came to be known as Egyptian Bazaar because the majority of the products especially the spices used to be imported from Egypt. Today it is the best place in Istanbul to find spices, nuts, herbal teas, dried fruits, flower seeds, scarce plant roots/peels and traditional Turkish foods such as Turkish delight, Turkish coffee and it functioned as a natural pharmacy.
Here is situated within the complex of Yeni Cami. The Yeni Cami complex which was commissioned by Safiye Sultan to be built and the construction of which started in the year 1591 was completed by Hatice Turhan Valide Sultan in the year 1633. Within the complex of Yeni Cami there are two fountains, the dar-ül hadis- and children’s school. The architect of the Bazaar is believed to be Hassa Chief Architect Mustafa Ağa or Kasım Ağa who was the chamberlain of the Sultan.
The Spice Bazaar has 6 doors which are not used today. There are one hundred shops in the bazaar. Although the mentioned Bazaar was first named Valide (Mother Sultan) Bazaar. The Spice Bazaar was burned down twice in 1691 and 1940 . The Bazaar was lately restorated by the municipality of Istanbul between the years 1940 and 1943. In the Bazaar which is famous for its herbalists currently dried fruits, delicatessen and various food staff besides conventional products such as natural medicines, spices, flower seeds, scarce plant roots and peels are sold. It is known that the spices sold here are in addition to their consumption as food staff, useful for the treatment of certain diseases. Lately an increase in the number of jewelery shops in the bazaar is being observed. Within the Spice Bazaar there are restaurants with a view over the Golden Horn and Galata Bridge as well. The Bazaar is open from Mondays to Saturdays.